NNOVATE

ISCOVER

NALYZE

XPLORE

I

D

E

A

 

ABOUT MIRF

The Manitoba Isotope Research Facility (MIRF) was established in 2014 under the supervision of Drs. Mostafa Fayek and Alfredo Camacho. The Facility is housed in the Department of Geological Sciences and is part of the Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC) and Center for Earth Observation (CEOS) at the University of Manitoba. 

This state-of-the-art Facility has one of four  Secondary-Ion Mass Spectrometers (SIMS) in Canada, a diverse Stable Isotope Lab (EA, TC/EA, Gas Bench, GC-C) along with several satellite Geochemistry Labs, a Biogeochemistry Lab, and an Argon-Argon Lab.

 

The MIRF  offers hands-on opportunities for students and visiting scientists, and provides a wide array of analytical services for industry, academic, and government organizations world-wide. 

 

LABORATORIES

 

PERSONNEL

Dr. Mostafa Fayek

Isotope Geochemistry

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences 

Director, Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC)

Mostafa.Fayek@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Alfredo Camacho

Geochronology and Tectonics

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences

Associate Director, Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC)

Alfredo.Camacho@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Søren Rysgaard

Arctic Geomicrobiology and Climate Change

Department of Environment and Geography

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Supervisor: Biogeochemistry Lab

Soeren.Rysgaard@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Marcos Lemes

Research Associate - Biogeochemistry Lab

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Marcos.Lemes@umanitoba.ca 

Ryan Sharpe, M.Sc

Manager - SIMS Lab

Department of Geological Sciences

Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC)

Ryan.Sharpe@umanitoba.ca 

Misuk Yun, M.Sc

Senior Technician - Stable Isotope Lab

Department of Geological Sciences

Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC)

Misuk.Yun@umanitoba.ca

COLLABORATORS

 
 

Shipping Address:

Department of Geological Sciences 

University of Manitoba

125 Dysart Road, R. 240 Wallace Building

Winnipeg, MB   R3T 2N2

©2020 by MIRF