NNOVATE

ISCOVER

NALYZE

XPLORE

I

D

E

A

 

ABOUT MIRF

The Manitoba Isotope Research Facility (MIRF) was established in 2014 under the supervision of Drs. Mostafa Fayek and Alfredo Camacho. The Facility is housed in the Department of Geological Sciences and is part of the Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC) and Center for Earth Observation (CEOS) at the University of Manitoba. 

This state-of-the-art Facility has one of four  Secondary-Ion Mass Spectrometers (SIMS) in Canada, a diverse Stable Isotope Lab (EA, TC/EA, Gas Bench, GC-C) along with several satellite Geochemistry Labs, a Biogeochemistry Lab, and an Argon-Argon Lab.

 

The MIRF  offers hands-on opportunities for students and visiting scientists, and provides a wide array of analytical services for industry, academic, and government organizations world-wide. 

 

LABORATORIES

 

PERSONNEL

Fayek_edited.jpg

Dr. Mostafa Fayek

Isotope Geochemistry

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences 

Director, Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC)

Mostafa.Fayek@umanitoba.ca

AC_edited.jpg

Dr. Alfredo Camacho

Geochronology and Tectonics

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences

Associate Director, Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC)

Alfredo.Camacho@umanitoba.ca

Rysgaard_edited.png

Dr. Søren Rysgaard

Arctic Geomicrobiology and Climate Change

Department of Environment and Geography

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Supervisor: Biogeochemistry Lab

Soeren.Rysgaard@umanitoba.ca

mlemes.jpg

Dr. Marcos Lemes

Research Associate - Biogeochemistry Lab

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Marcos.Lemes@umanitoba.ca 

Sharpe.JPG

Ryan Sharpe, M.Sc

Manager - SIMS Lab

Department of Geological Sciences

Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC)

Ryan.Sharpe@umanitoba.ca 

Yun_1_edited.jpg

Misuk Yun, M.Sc

Senior Technician - Stable Isotope Lab

Department of Geological Sciences

Earth Materials and Archaeometry Center (EMAC)

Misuk.Yun@umanitoba.ca

ESI-Logo-full-1-300x148.png
usask_usask_colour.png
1200px-Oak_Ridge_National_Laboratory_log

COLLABORATORS

MIM.gif
ORANO.jpg
Western_tower_logo.png
iaea-logo.jpg
Cameco.jpg
CEOS_CMYK.jpg
cnsc2.png
1200px-China_National_Nuclear_Corporatio
SMU.jpg
Laurentian.png
1200px-Seal_of_the_Geological_Survey_of_
SKLODG.jpg
NRCan-Canada_E.jpg
UR_Logo_Primary_Full_Colour_RGB.jpg