©2018 by B.M. Shabaga

Shipping Address:

Department of Geological Sciences 

University of Manitoba

125 Dysart Road, R. 240 Wallace Building

Winnipeg, MB   R3T 2N2

NNOVATE

ISCOVER

NALYZE

XPLORE

I

D

E

A

 

ABOUT MIRF

The Manitoba Isotope Research Facility (MIRF) was established in 2014 under the supervision of Drs. Mostafa Fayek and Alfredo Camacho. The Facility is housed in the Department of Geological Sciences and is part of the Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS) at the University of Manitoba. 

This state-of-the-art Facility has one of four  Secondary-Ion Mass Spectrometers (SIMS) in Canada, a diverse Stable Isotope Lab (EA, TC/EA, Gas Bench, GC-C) along with several satellite Geochemistry Labs, a Biogeochemistry Lab, and an Argon-Argon Lab.

 

The MIRF  offers hands-on opportunities for students and visiting scientists, and provides a wide array of analytical services for industry, academic, and government organizations world-wide. 

 
 

PERSONNEL

Dr. Mostafa Fayek

Isotope Geochemistry

Department of Geological Sciences (Head) 

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Supervisor: SIMS Lab, Stable Isotope Lab

Mostafa.Fayek@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Alfredo Camacho

Geochronology and Tectonics

Department of Geological Sciences (Assoc. Head)

Supervisor: Ar-Ar Lab

Alfredo.Camacho@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Søren Rysgaard

Arctic Geomicrobiology and Climate Change

Department of Environment and Geography

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Supervisor: Biogeochemistry Lab

Soeren.Rysgaard@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Marcos Lemes

Research Associate - Biogeochemistry Lab

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Marcos.Lemes@umanitoba.ca 

Misuk Yun, M.Sc

Senior Technician - Stable Isotope Lab

Department of Geological Sciences

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Misuk.Yun@umanitoba.ca

Ryan Sharpe, M.Sc

Manager - SIMS Lab

Department of Geological Sciences

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Ryan.Sharpe@umanitoba.ca 

Brandi Shabaga, B.Sc

Technician - Stable Isotope Lab

Department of Geological Sciences

Centre for Earth Observation Science (CEOS)

Brandi.Shabaga@umanitoba.ca

COLLABORATORS